Driver's Education: In-Person
All Summer Classes are FULL at this time. Registration for Fall Driver's Education classes will begin August 5th.
**Refunds are not guaranteed within 5 business days of the class starting unless the spot can be filled by another student. There is a $15 processing fee for any cancellations.
Community Education, in collaboration with Safeway Driving School, offers students ages 14½ and older the opportunity to participate in classroom instruction to prepare them for the MN permit test. All instructors are licensed by the MN Department of Public Safety. Safeway has been in business for over 50 years!
Behind-the-wheel registration and instruction must be set up with Safeway Driving School, 651.351.9150 www.safewaydrivingschool.com. The cost is $180 and is payable directly to Safeway at the lessons.
Classroom instruction prepares the student to take the Minnesota permit test and begin the responsibility of driving. The 30 hours of classroom is structured into 10 independent lessons. Students must be on time for all classes. If a student misses a lesson, they can make up that exact lesson number at the next session or at one of Safeway’s other locations.
After class is completed, students that are 15 years old are eligible to take their permit test at any Minnesota exam center. Students can take the class at age 14½ but cannot take their permit test until age 15.
Parent involvement is required to produce safe, responsible teen drivers. It is critical that parents plan to practice regularly with their new student drivers. Safeway offers detailed information on its web site to assist parents with understanding Minnesota laws and requirements for student drivers. Safeway strongly encourages parents to review its parent information, attend a Parent Class or watch the online Parent Class videos at www.safewaydrivingschool.com.
Behind-the-wheel registration and instruction must be directly set up with Safeway Driving School, 651.351.9150, www.safewaydrivingschool.com. The cost is $180 and is payable to Safeway at the lessons. Includes six hours of driving in three, two-hour private lessons. All driving is done in a real car on actual city streets, highways and freeways with a responsible, licensed Safeway instructor. Safeway recommends students take their first lesson 6-8 weeks after receiving their permit. The lessons should be a minimum of 30 days apart to allow for practice driving. The lessons can be completed up to one year after completing classroom. Scheduling is offered online for 24/7 convenience. All of Safeway’s cars are white with identical graphics, so parents and students are confident that it is a Safeway car picking up the student for a lesson. Students can get picked up for their behind-the-wheel lesson from home, school or work.