Skip to content

Book Clubs


Adult / Parent Education -
Fall 2022

Book Clubs - Adult Only (No Sibling Care offered)

Join parent educator Lisa Weir each month to discuss the many aspects of life that impact our parenting. Please purchase your own copy of the the book for class.

Session A:  Kid Confidence: Help your Child Make Friends, Build Resilience, and Develop Real Self-Esteem 
                  Author:  Eileen Kennedy-Moore, PhD

"I can't do it." "I'm not good enough." "Nobody likes me."
It's hard to hear our kids say negative things about themselves. The more we tell our self-doubting kids that they are wonderful, the harder they argue. Kid Confidence offers parents effective, proven strategies for helping their kids accept themselves in a quiet, authentic way. Join Lisa Weir, M.Ed. for this monthly parent book club to explore powerful research-based tips to help your child create satisfying friendships, embrace learning, handle setbacks, feelings of being left out and sibling jealousy.

Session B:  Fourteen Talks by Age Fourteen: The Essential Conversations you Need to Have with your Kids Before They Start High School
                   Author:  Michelle Icard

Like a Rosetta Stone for your tween's confounding language, Fourteen Talks by Age Fourteen is an essential communication guide to helping your child through the emotional, physical, and social challenges ahead and, ultimately, toward teenage success. Join Parent Educator, Lisa Weir, M.Ed. through the journey of discovering these fourteen critical conversations to keep your kids safe and prepared for the fut


Instructor

Lisa Weir


Lisa has been a Parent & Family Educator in Eastern Carver County Schools for the past fifteen years.She is passionate about supporting parents during every step of their parenting journey by compassionately providing research-based information, education and support. Lisa holds her teaching license in Parent & Family Education and Master’s Degree in Education from The University of Minnesota.She teaches ECFE classes and 112 Parent Book Clubs at the Family Learning Center and conducts Parent Education sessions at various locations in the community such as schools, corporations and churches on request.She also offers personalized one-on-one parent coaching and counseling tailored to meet a family’s specific situation. As the Infant Specialist, Lisa is responsible for outreach to families with new babies and teaching Welcome Baby classes.She is also the creator and host of the Mom Psych podcast. As a resident of Victoria, her daughters, Chandler 28 and Sheridan 25 both attended and graduated from ECCS. She and her husband Keith have been married for 32 years.

2290A-Kid

  Lisa Weir


Family Learning Center / Community Education : Room 128
Tue Sep 20, Tue Oct 18, Tue Nov 15, Tue Dec 13, Tue Jan 24, Tue Feb 21, Tue Mar 14, Tue Apr 18 & Tue May 16
1:00 - 2:15 PM

Su
M
Tu
W
Th
F
Sa


Already started


Price: $ 40 00
2290B-Fourteen

  Lisa Weir


Family Learning Center / Community Education : Room 128
Thu Sep 22, Thu Oct 27, Thu Nov 17, Thu Dec 15, Thu Jan 19, Thu Feb 16, Thu Mar 16, Thu Apr 20 & Thu May 18
1:00 - 2:15 PM

Su
M
Tu
W
Th
F
Sa


Already started


Price: $ 40 00